Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC)



Applications accepted on an ongoing basis


Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE)


Awards funding to state educational agencies (SEAs) for the creation of community learning centers which run after-school programs for students in high-poverty or low-performing schools. SEAs award their Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC funds to local school districts and community organizations through state-administered grant competitions. 21st CCLCs provide activities that support students' academic success, such as:

  • Remedial education in core academic subjects, such as math, science, and reading
  • Tutoring services and mentoring programs
  • Arts and music education
  • Language skills activities for English learners
  • Telecommunications, technology, and entrepreneurship education

Also offers a broad-range of enrichment activities, such as:

  • Drug and violence prevention programs
  • Counseling and character education programs
  • Assistance to students who have been truant, suspended, or expelled
  • Parental involvement and family literacy
  • Nutrition and health education programs
  • Services for individuals with disabilities
  • Internships, apprenticeships, and career readiness programs in partnership with local business and industry sectors
  • Recreational activities

Amount of Funding

Estimated number of awards: 52
Estimated total program funding: $1,312,879,540

The U.S. Department of Education awards Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC funds yearly by statute to individual state education agencies (SEAs). Each state receiving an award then manages its own statewide competition to award sub-grants to local school districts and other eligible entities.

While amounts awarded to local school districts and community organizations will vary by state, local grant awards may not be less than $50,000, with a project period of 3-5 years. Contact the appropriate state department of education for more information about local award amounts.

Who Can Apply

Local entities that are eligible to receive Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC sub-awards from their state educational agency include:

  • Local education agencies (LEAs)
  • Indian tribes or tribal organizations
  • Community-based organizations; other public or private entities
  • Faith-based organizations
  • A consortium of 2 or more of such agencies, organizations, or entities

Geographic Coverage


What This Program Funds

Equipment • New Program • Operating Costs and Staffing

Application Process

Use the state department of education contact list to visit Nita M. Lowey 21st CCLC state program websites for information on current or upcoming grant competitions, application details, and deadlines in individual states.

21st CCLC resource list


For programmatic questions contact:

For questions about individual state grant competitions contact the appropriate state department of education for more information.

Topics This Program Addresses

Parents, Families, and Children • Prevention • Schools • Violence, Trauma, and Abuse • Youth