Rural Faith Leaders Workshop Series: Empowering Faith Leaders to Help Persons with Substance Use Disorder

The Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) has organized a series of four workshops for rural faith leaders to come together to discuss, learn, and share information and resources to help individuals with substance use disorder (SUD). Each workshop will have a specific focus to assist all houses of worship to position themselves to be both first responders and communities of hope and support for people and families struggling with addiction.

The main objectives of the workshop series include:

  • Increasing faith leaders’ understanding of substance use disorder (SUD) and how to connect faith to prevention, treatment, and recovery.
  • Building capacity of faith leaders to take action by providing information to prepare and ready leaders and their congregants to provide the support needed to assist individuals with substance use disorder.
  • Helping faith leaders to find their lane and empower faith communities to put initiatives in place to help in the area(s) where they can make the most difference.

Workshop Details

Workshop 2: Prevention Education and Connecting Faith to Prevention
Date:
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Time: 10:00 a.m. Pacific, 11:00 a.m. Mountain, 12:00 p.m. Central, 1:00 p.m. Eastern
Duration: Approximately 90 minutes

More information and materials will be posted closer to the workshop.

Future Workshops in This Series

  • Workshop 3: Understanding Treatment and Connecting Faith to Treatment
    Date:
    TBD
  • Workshop 4: Supporting Recovery and Connecting Faith to Recovery
    Date:
    TBD

Past Workshops

  • Workshop 1: Substance Use Disorder and the Pandemic in Rural Communities
    Date: Tuesday, December 8, 2020
    Offers a video recording, transcript, and slides of a workshop discussion describing the intersecting opioid epidemic and COVID-19 pandemic in rural areas. Includes discussion on finding and using data to describe substance use issues in your community and highlights the economic impacts of substance use in rural communities during the pandemic. Provides details and resources to help rural congregations and faith leaders prepare and provide support to individuals with SUD and families affected by substance use.

Rural Community Toolbox Rural Faith Leaders Starting Points

The Rural Community Toolbox provides details on federal funding opportunities and other resources rural communities of faith and faith leaders can use to support prevention, treatment, and recovery services for individuals with SUD. The opportunities and resources below are specific to faith-based organizations but there are more expert help and training resources and information resources searchable by type and topic to help address SUD.


Added: 11/16/2020